Tags

, , , , ,

So I have containers, I even got a pack of seeds to start! I figured since I’m in zone 10, I could get started early on my planting. The whole “zone” thing has to do with my location in the United States. The different zones have different low temperatures, meaning plants can or cannot be planted at different times during the year. I swear in my eight years living here it has never gotten below 45 degrees. In fact, now in mid-January its been steadily in the 70s or upper 60s.

But this post is mostly on soil, since I’m not going crazy with planting yet, my little planting alley next to my house is not ready yet, and I am starting school soon. I want to see how much time I will really have before getting into everything. I did go get soil not tons, just enough to plant the dwarf lemon tree my mom wanted and some to fill up the containers. I had always gotten potting mix with my father but its not the cheapest thing, especially if you’re buying it in the bags like us. So we decided to get top soil, which was only $2 a bag and steer manure and compost mix which was only$1.15 a bag.

When looking at what people said to do when when fixing up their soil, a lot said the just took the soil they had on site and added compost and manure. Well we didn’t have any starting soil, which is why we bought the top soil to mix in the compost and manure.  We did buy some potting mix because we figured mixing some of that in would only help things.

We planted the dwarf lemon in this gorgeous planter we’ve had one of those braided ficus in. We noticed after in rained a while ago that the water had never drained out, even though there was a hole in the bottom of the bottom of the pot. My mom and me managed to tip it on its side to drain it (not easy, the thing was definitely water logged) and when we did, there was a huge root sticking out the hole! When I say huge, I mean huge too, it was at least three inches in diameter, and fairly long already.

We were so happy we did this seeing as it was already trying to go down and break through the concrete in the middle, although the smell from the water that had been there for a long time was not pleasant. My brother had to help us get it out of pot, and it was kinda an ordeal. The lemon tree certainly looks dwarf right now, seeing as its a huge pot, but hopefully it grow bigger relatively soon. Below is the tree we took out. We are going to try and sell it seeing as we saw similar trees for sale at Home Depot for over $45.

Displaying IMG_1248.JPG      So now the lemon tree looks great, (pictured below) and I filled up a couple of the containers with my soil mix. I did about one and half bags of top soil and three quarters a bag of manure/compost. A lot people recommend not filling up the whole container with soil, because it makes the container heavy and hard to move. I don’t plan on moving the containers from where they are and even now that they’re full, they really aren’t too bad. I put a full layer of potting soil on top of the two containers I filled up, about four inches thick. Again, not clue if this will actually help, but its can’t hurt.Displaying IMG_1247.JPG

Here is one of them filled up, and even with a plant in it! It’s just a basil plant we had just sitting around that was looking super sad and wilted.Displaying IMG_1249.JPG

So once I get my side yard all cleared out and ready to plant, I will go get more soil, this time with my dad to help carry all the bags, and get ready to plant! I’ve read many times, and even had it recommended to me as a comment on my first post to start small. Unfortunately I’m young and naive so I want to start with just about as much as I can!  I won’t though, I’m really going to try and not get too crazy. Everything I will be growing is considered “easy” vegetables so hopefully even though I may be starting with more than I should, I’ll still get somewhat decent results!

Next time I’m going to talk a little bit more about the few plants I already have in the ground and also the flower seeds I ordered!

